top of page
  • Writer's picturethunderdx44

5/17 Final Project IDEA


For my final project I remade the classic game name known as Brick breaker. I started with what I found most comfortable, and this way drawing the ball and the creating the bounds for the game. I set the ball x-speed to (5,2)and y-speed(5), this gives the ball an angled movement, this allows the ball to bounce unpredictably. For the bounds, if the ball touches the sides and the top the balls speed with reverse. Then I added the "paddle", this being rect(mouseX, 375, 90, 15),since the bounds for the bottom would be the paddle, if the ball hits the bar the y-speed would reverse. Then came bricks, for this I borrowed the professors brink constructor from the April 21st example and removed the life component so once the ball hits the brick it get removes from the array instantly. The array of bricks did so up but the ball was passing through them, the collision is being detected but something is being removed. To fix this I had to make a constructor for the ball and the collision was working, and the essence of the game is finished. Next was the game states, I made 3 states, start screen/the game/post game. Lastly I added the extras, this being a score , score multiplier , and lives. Every time u clear the screen your multiplier will double. Brick breaker was a childhood favorite of mine but that wasn't the complete reason why I chose to remake it. I wanted to explore the complexity of making a game even one so simple. As a consumer it's very easy to look at a game and critique a game, brick breaker is an easy game to play so in turn you assume its an easy one to make. But the jump from player to developer is a big one and along with the frustration had fun exploring. Thank you.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4/19 Space invader step one

While thinking of ideas for my final project, I said a video of an arcade cabinet of the game space invaders being found and I that i would be cool to recreate or reimagine space invaders on the p5. T

XY Bouncing(4/12)

https://editor.p5js.org/meetch444./sketches/kGSjq3LKV This sketch is ball bouncing in what would be a Z shape and as it bounces of the wall it changes colors. I had to dumb down this project a lot due

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page