top of page
  • Writer's picturethunderdx44

MY MIDTERM PROJECT

For my midterm project, I created a Dance Dance Revolution (DDR) and Just Dance-inspired game, which I titled Range Finder Revolution or RFR for short. One of my favorite pastimes include is listening to music, so from the jump I wanted my project to include a musical aspect. Now when it came down to narrowing the basis of my project I turned to a combination of my other pastimes, in this case, dancing and gaming. DDR and Just Dance combine those two things. By utilizing the USR I can imitate the sensor that Just Dance uses to locate the player and track the player and their movements. From DDR I took the concept of difficulty and how each difficulty has a different set BPM. I took BPM and turned it into a time limit. My game has 3 modes, easy, medium, hard, and the corresponding times ranging from the 30s to 10s. The objective of the game is fairly simple, the micro-bot will have a set location on a range from 0-36inches, the player must place themselves within 3 inches of that location to win. When it came to designing the game I found an issue that I couldn't fix or rather couldn't find the cause of it. This being the inconsistency with the USR, while you can win the game the USR reading and the set distance tend not to link up causing the player to lose when in the correct spot. While this makes the game more challenging, while some people might enjoy it does set the player at a great disadvantage. Besides that issue, this was an incredibly fun project and I can't wait for it to be tested by the class.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5/17 Final Project IDEA

Full-screen: https://editor.p5js.org/meetch444./full/Jge8dxU9u Code: https://editor.p5js.org/meetch444./sketches/Jge8dxU9u For my final project I remade the classic game name known as Brick breaker. I

4/19 Space invader step one

While thinking of ideas for my final project, I said a video of an arcade cabinet of the game space invaders being found and I that i would be cool to recreate or reimagine space invaders on the p5. T

XY Bouncing(4/12)

https://editor.p5js.org/meetch444./sketches/kGSjq3LKV This sketch is ball bouncing in what would be a Z shape and as it bounces of the wall it changes colors. I had to dumb down this project a lot due

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page